Problem with Goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kmv16

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I've had 4 gold fish the first 2 died within 3 days the latest 2 one died in a matter of hours and the other one is at deaths door! The first 2 the tank didn't have an air pump and I believe I added too much tapsafe the latest two were held in a finding nemo tank complete with air pump bought from pets at home in which i followed the instructions on the box however I didn't add tapsafe because I was unsure how much to add! Why are my fish dying? What should I be using and how? Obviously I'm a beginner are there any guides to follow?

More info will help us answer you...
How big is the original tank you had the fish in?
Can you post a pic of the fish so we can tell what type of goldfish? Or do you know what type you have?
Definitely use a water conditioner before putting the fish in it--it neutralizes chlorine & heavy metals in tap water that will harm the fish. Seachem's Prime will even neutralize Ammonia from tap water. Make sure the water is brought to the same temp as the water the fish are currently in or it will shock them. I leave the water in jugs next to the tank ready for the next water change. And sometimes, water differences between the water the fish were in to the water you have can cause problems so when you change water sources, you should slowly acclimate them.

Hopefully someone w/ more expertise will chime in!! Good luck!!