Products to adjust pH

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larochem595

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi Everyone,

I am somewhat new to having fish and never had a planted tank before. I have been using Proper pH 7.5 in my tank.
According to the manufacturers booklet, this product isn't safe for planted tanks and states that it will "stunt plant growth."
Does anyone have any experience with this? Does it really make that big of a difference?
Are there buffers that won't be harmful to my plants?

Thanks!!
Michelle

There are better choices.

Why are you using the proper pH? Do you know your KH and GH?

Sent from my iPhone with three hands tied behind my back.

What is your tap water's pH and KH? What is the pH and KH that you want? Why do you want to have this pH and KH?

Right now, the pH in my tank is good so I'm not looking to adjust anything just yet.
I'm aiming for a pH of around 7.5. I'm relatively new to owning an aquarium and trying to learn.

Our tap water tends to be on the acidic side, with a pH of around 6.5. KH is around 60 ppm and GH around 200 ppm.

Don't try to change your pH unless you absolutely need to. Things will be much easier if you just use your tap water as it is. A pH af 6.5 of excellent, I would love to have that.

Tank Water Chemistry

Hi Everyone,

I am somewhat new to having fish and never had a planted tank before. I have been using Proper pH 7.5 in my tank.
According to the manufacturers booklet, this product isn't safe for planted tanks and states that it will "stunt plant growth."
Does anyone have any experience with this? Does it really make that big of a difference?
Are there buffers that won't be harmful to my plants?

Thanks!!
Michelle

Hello Mich...