Pro's and Con's of Clownfish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carey

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've finally decided what three fish I want. A pair of clowns, not sure of which ones though, and a Goby. :)

This will be mostly a coral tank but I've been told that fish should be included. LOL

What I want are colorful, playful and friendly fish. My cichlids follow me when I walk by, I love that.

So, what do you guys think? And what order do I stock? I'm a noob so any input is good input. I love learning.

Thanks so much

pros- they look cute and occasionally host corals/anemones.
cons- none, unless you purchase some of the larger ones, like maroon clowns. these will rearrange your tank once they find something to host in. they will be quite aggressive and not let any fish near their little area.
percula, or ocellaris would be my choice.
what else are you considering besides clowns?

I was thinking a Goby. I know I can only have 3 or 4 fish so I'm thinking ahead. Not even sure what kind of Goby, that'll be another thread and more research.

I'm not a big nemo fish fan, but I'd like some fish with personality. What about the black ones? I'm pretty sure I dont want the regular orange striped ones.

In so much as order, would I get my fish first or start my corals?

Thanks X, I always look forward to your replies. :-D

yeah, black and white ocellaris are cool. i used to have a pair of those in a massive rose bubble.

They aren't aggressive at all? I'm thinking of getting an anemone at some point so thats where they hang out isn't it?

I'm still not sure what to add first though. My water seems stable now and the small cuc I have is working out.

they can team up with an anemone, but it's not a sure thing. they can also utilize different wavy corals as protection. i would try the coral first before i attempted an anemone. much easier to keep.