Put store water into tank water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Benwitz2

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 gallon with 5 neon tetras, 1 silver Molly, and a Mickey Mouse Molly. I'm a rookie at aquariums and whenever I got a new fish, I didn't think it was a big deal to put the water that was from the store into my tank water. I've done this a couple times, and I've realized that I could be introducing parasites. Is there any measure I could take to "disinfect" my water and make sure there's no parasites? I have the means to disinfect individual fish, but then the parasites are still in the water. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

As long as your fish are healthy they should not get sick with a parasite. As humans we have tons of various parasites al around us and we don't get ill if we are healthy.

Imo don't over think it. If you think about it, the water you add during water changes probably has parasites in it too.

Sent from my SM-G386T1 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Youre correct in worrying about adding store water into your tank. Most commonly this can introduce ich. However theres a ton of other nasties that can get in that way as well.

Theres not really any way to disinfect your water. But keep an eye on the fish.
As long as your fish are healthy they should not get sick with a parasite. As humans we have tons of various parasites al around us and we don't get ill if we are healthy.

Imo don't over think it. If you think about it, the water you add during water changes probably has parasites in it too.

If your tap water has parasites in it, then you have serious water quality issues.