Question about pumps and air stones.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Deacon22

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I tried searching for this but couldn't get an exact match.

I am a newbie and have just set up a 20 gal Top Fin tank. I also have a top fin air pump hooked up to one of those decorations (Cabin with wheel and chimney)

My problem is the noise is out of control. If I am in the basement, I still can hear it. The noise doesn't sound like it is the pump. The pump is a low muffled vibration. This noise is more like a rattle.

If I squeeze the air stone slightly, (air still getting through) the noise stops entirely. I bent the air stone and tied a rubber band around it. The chimney still has bubbles coming out at the normal speed. The wheel is also turning, albeit a little slower.

Is this something I shouldn't be doing? Or am I screwing up the pump?

Thanks for the help.

I am confused too. =) The noise sounds like it is coming from the tank. But if I disconnect the hose and blow air through it manually, there is no noise. Once I hook the hose up to the pump, the rattling starts.

As soon as I pinch the hose, the noise stops. Could it be too much air is being sent through the hose?

I seem to have made a mistake, it is not the airstone I am squeezing, it is the tubing leading from the pump to the decoration.

Deacon22 said:
I seem to have made a mistake, it is not the airstone I am squeezing, it is the tubing leading from the pump to the decoration.

Then I'd have to say its either the decor or you can try and put on a bigger air stone if that's where you think its coming from. It may be coming from the pump. Try putting a wash cloth under ot and see if that helps the vibration noise.