Re-doing a 30 gal. with live fish in it. Questions !!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zoominiroc

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all. Newbie here. I have a 30 gallon freshwater tank that I'm trying to clean up and get straight. I have one fish in there that I don't know what it is. (A friend gave me all her fish when she moved.) The tank has a lot of algae and I'm trying to clean it up. I scooped out most of the stones and removed all the ornaments. The water got real cloudy so I put in a fresh packet. It got dirty fast so I rinsed it out. This seemed to work well. I cleaned the big rocks and all the gravel I removed in the sink. Sprayed it all with bleach. Is that not good ? I went into this with the best intentions but I think I'm over in over my head. The tank was the girl's thing (she's gone) and I want to save it. Help me out here please. -Mike

You are going to end up cycling the tank again if youre cleaning all the decor and filters out. Beneficial bacteria are present on the decor, substrate, and filters, and chlorine will kill those. Rinsing them in tap water is the worst thing you can do.

If everything is covered in bleach, rinse, rinse, rinnnnnssseee. And don't do this again. Make sure you have a water dechlorinator for removing chlorine and such before adding water to your fish. Dont ever remove all of the filter contents at once to clean, just one piece at a time. Preserving the beneficial nutrients in the aquarium is what you need for a healthy tank! Good that your on here getting info. Good luck!!!

Yeah with algae, you should probably use a toothbrush and clean off the decor in a container of tank water.
Scrape the sides as best you can, and siphon out whats floating, and Swish your filter media around in the bucket of tank water.
Then do a black out.