Reason we're better

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flchamp89

Aquarium Advice Addict
Im not trying to bash anyone. I dont know if this is against the rules. But im on several forums. Stocking is always an issue. My guess is half of a forums new members are looking for advice of sorts after their fish store failed to be honest or was just not educated themselves.

I think ill take a couple goldfish for my new 2.6g fluval spec iii.

What a tragedy. 20170127_102453.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
the person at my fish store said they had the same tank as me.... 22 litre.... and said they had a betta, Cory's, molly's and a plec.... a plec!!!!! now I know I'm new to fish keeping and have a lot still to lean but that screamed alarm bells even with me!

Bad advice I've received, only some of which I've taken:
· Rainbow sharks are good in a 29 gallon community
· That's a male guppy
· Green spotted puffers can live with nerites because they both have changing salinity preferences
· The only food you need is tetra color boost
· Treat all your new fish with [snake oil] and you don't need to quarantine
· Throw away your filter media every two months
· All water conditioners are pretty much the same

I was looking at the fish and notice three labeled wrong. The otto vs cae vs sae confusion lol

I've had about 50/50 luck. I've learned not to make impulse buys and read. But even then sometimes opinions are varied it is hard to figure out the way to go. Then trial by error or success. It's a crap shoot and just do the best we can and keep learning.

I've had about 50/50 luck. I've learned not to make impulse buys and read. But even then sometimes opinions are varied it is hard to figure out the way to go. Then trial by error or success. It's a crap shoot and just do the best we can and keep learning.
High five