Refinishing aquarium cabinet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rosebud

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all,

I'm kind of new to DIY and need some advice. I am refinishing an aquarium cabinet/stand that came with the 55g I have. The cabinet is made of MDF. It was painted gray with black speckles on it - I guess trying to make it look like stone. So far I have sanded it and primed it and painted it two coats of eggshell wall paint. I've painted it a shade darker than the wall it will be set against. The question is do I now coat it with polyurethane to help protect the paint and make it easier to clean? I have bought a can of satin polyurethane but haven't used it now - not sure if that is what I should do.

Thanks for any advice/suggestions.
Roxi

I wouldn't put any clear coat on the paint at all. Make sure to let the paint fully cure for about 48 hours or the paint can still peel up. Eggshell (assuming you mean the finish and not the color) will be fine for a stand as long as you don't let water pool for long periods of time.

Edit: also the poly might not agree with the paint but I can't say fir sure because I've never done it.

Not only that, but polyurethane is very glossy. Your tank would 'shine' and it is a lot for some people. You have to make sure the paint that you used, a long with the material will hold with this. It will definitely peel up if there is a chemical reaction between the two. That also depends on how well it was primed too. When priming wood I do the following.

1) Thin layer of primer. Let it heal (recommendation time on the can/bottle)
2) Sand it down once more (not completely removing the primer, but enough to get a nice little primer/wood finish.
3) Prime again with the recommended amount, and let it heal.