Roofing Slate Safe?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

richiestang_78

Aquarium Advice Freak
So my parents work as a place that has a slate roof and collected quite a bit for me that from pieces that have fallen off the roof or from pieces that were replaced.

My question is, is all slate safe, or has roofing slate been treated or put through some sort of special process and should be avoided being used in aquariums.

Hi there, I work as a builder and do a bit of roofing now and then and have noticed that new slate i.e after 1996 is sometimes treated with a chemical to stop moss growing on it from when birds poop on it lol, i dont think it would be a problem putting it in the tank though because it only stays on the slate for a short time due to weathering, but because they are broken slate i would guess that they are old so they should be fine, they are pure natural slate, just boil the bits first to kill any bacteria that mite be on them.

If the slate is untreated rock, you can use the vinegar test to see if it's suitable for the aquarium. Put a few drops of white vinegar on it. If it fizzes (due to the acetic acid in the vinegar), it will raise the pH. Unless that's what you want, I wouldn't put such rock into the tank.

if i'm not mistaken slate is used with tar sometimes. not to sure if that's safe to put in your tank.

Well heres some photos of the slate that I just got. It has been outside in the elements for some time so if it was treated with anything wouldn't it have been washed away by now. Let me know if you think its safe. I plan on breaking it up and also using a cutting wheel on the larger pieces.

img_973319_0_dccff304af0500175f4f8dd890c1928d.jpg

img_973319_1_84245c8ce4288dd297375c8b4c98e407.jpg

img_973319_2_8788a42f02c4abcf49836dd6b7aae75a.jpg