rookie needing help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kdogg85

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Just came into possesion of a 75 gallon tank(48x18x21). I have one I got a couple months ago, but already have cichlids in it. This tank I want to make a fish and live rock tank. Just wondering what equipment i need. Already have glass cover, emperor 400 filter, rena xp1 filter. I want to keep fish that stay under 8'' and have snails, crabs, shrimp. So what would be a good mix of fish and invertibrates. I'm a complete noob at saltwater and wanted to give it a try. I have read and read and read articles, listened to folks at lfs, and read some more. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

The above ling is a great place to begin! When looking for places to buy your equipment check out all the online vendors you can find. You can usually save a lot of money over walking into a LFS. Also check craigslist in your area.

Ok, checked all that out. A couple questions, is a powerhead and protein skimmer necessary if not having coral. Can a wet/dry filter be used without a hole in the tank or an overflow box. I have looked everywhere and cannot seem to find an answer.

The skimmer you can go without even though I believe they serve a good purpose. The PH I believe you need. Your tank is going to need some good flow to push the water around. Your nitrifying bacteria will need water pushed it`s way to feed off of the ammonia and nitrites. You dont need a drilled hole. Just get a HOB overflow and it will carry the water to your wet dry.