Salt Water Rookie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Howard11

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm new to salt water. I have a 45 gallon tank and a 20 gallon tank. And I want to hear from you all before I make a decision on these questions.

1. I know tap water isn't the best but is it do-able? After each week when I drain the tank partially I plan on replenishing it with bought salt water is that okay?

2. The 20 gallon...quarantine or sump?

3. When I add water (if i go tap route) what do I test for other than PH Amonia Nitrites Nitrates?

4. Is a 350gph a high enough flow for a 45 gallon?

5. Skimmer....do I need it right away?

6. I can add rock when I first start my cycle....can I add shrimp and crabs then too?

7. How do I add amonia to my tank when I think my cycle is complete....is there something I can buy? Or do I just throw some nasty raw shrimp in there?

8. If the cycle doesn't get rid of the ammonia in 24 hours how do I add more bacteria to the tank to process it?

Thanks in advance!!

Howard11 said:
So I'm new to salt water. I have a 45 gallon tank and a 20 gallon tank. And I want to hear from you all before I make a decision on these questions.

1. I know tap water isn't the best but is it do-able? After each week when I drain the tank partially I plan on replenishing it with bought salt water is that okay?

2. The 20 gallon...quarantine or sump?

3. When I add water (if i go tap route) what do I test for other than PH Amonia Nitrites Nitrates?

4. Is a 350gph a high enough flow for a 45 gallon?

5. Skimmer....do I need it right away?

6. I can add rock when I first start my cycle....can I add shrimp and crabs then too?

7. How do I add amonia to my tank when I think my cycle is complete....is there something I can buy? Or do I just throw some nasty raw shrimp in there?