Seachem additives....which one to get??!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Xhilr8

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a newbie to saltwater aquariums and have been doing some reading on the net to better inform myself.

I'm on quite a tight budget at the moment (my car died today and needs repairs).. and I was wondering what Seachem products I should get as a bare minimum? I don't have corals and its a fish only tank, but I want to really boost the growth of Corraline algae. I heard Seachem Calcium is good for this? SHould I just get the calcium or other Seachem products?? They have so many and its really confusing me. Which of the following do you guys recommend for somebody with a fish only tank and on a tight budget?

Seachem Reef Builder
Seachem Reef Calcium
Seachem Reef Complete
Seachem Reef Plus

I'm leaning towards getting onlt the Reef Calcium or just the Reef Builder..any thoughts or inputs??

Which of the following do you guys recommend for somebody with a fish only tank and on a tight budget?

None ;)

You should be able to maintain CA and ALK levels adequate for coraline growth with regular water changes with a good salt mix.

Hmm, but I see even people with 10 years experience adding some supplements as its too hard to maintain certain water parameters in a closed environment.

So if ca is low but alk is fine, you suggest doing a water change to fix the problem (and keep changing the water until the paramaeters are right??) :? Sounds a bit difficult to maintain.. I rather add a supplement to fix that individual deficiency rather than do a water change.. :roll: