SeaChem Purigen for removing tannins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BfishLpond78

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Anyone had any experience with the SeaChem Purigen product for removing Tannins from Malaysian Driftwood?

I have tried a couple of times but it does not seem anywhere near as effective as plain carbon. The Purgien seemed to foul and turn dark brown very quickly and was stained permanently. The best thing I know is patience and water changes.

I have tried a couple of times but it does not seem anywhere near as effective as plain carbon. The Purgien seemed to foul and turn dark brown very quickly and was stained permanently. The best thing I know is patience and water changes.

+1

Is there any specific brand of carbon I should use? I'm new to the whole adding different types of media...and is there inserts that you can put together and make your own inserts for the HOB filters?

Also what does the +1 do? New to these forums as well.

Is there any specific brand of carbon I should use? I'm new to the whole adding different types of media...and is there inserts that you can put together and make your own inserts for the HOB filters?

+1 means a person agrees with the person before him or in the quote. For the carbon just ask your l.f.s. aka local fish store

I've never had Malaysian Driftwood, but I actually had the opposite result with the driftwood in my tank. Carbon seemed to do little while Purigen helped. I have to agree that the tannins did turn the Purigen brown fairly quickly though.

Ok, so i am looking online, and it seem that you can buy the seachem and it comes with a mesh bag for it, now my penguin bio-wheel has slots where you insert the cartridges, do i do the same with the seachem with the mesh bag, im not clear on how that works...???