"Seeding" an aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JackBinimbul

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm very new to everything so forgive me if I have some ignorant notions. I'm sure there are also words for some of the concepts I'm thinking of, but I'm not yet up on the lingo. I apologize in advance!

My intended setup is a 20 gallon long tank, about half full of water, with a land portion up on stilts with live plants. I will also have water plants both on the surface and submerged. My current goal is a community tank comprised of male Endlers, cherry shrimp and a small shoal of dwarf corydoras.

My question is this; in order to have a healthy nitrite cycle and bacteria population, I know it's better to let the water sort itself out without fish in it for a period of time. I'm totally fine with this. However, I was wondering if I could do something to give it a better start. Specifically, is it a "thing" to ask someone for a bit of their sandy substrate and maybe a piece of filter sponge?

Would this have the desired effect? Is this something a LFS would be willing to entertain? Is it something that online communities such as this one tend to encourage between users?

You could do a fish in cycle. But if you don't want to you can get filter sponge from someone you know that has a cycled tank. Put the piece of filter sponge in a container with the person's tank water when you transport it. It will help cycle your tank. I wouldn't get any media from a chain LFS as they have problems with their tanks constantly. Maybe a local LFS who you trust.

Dang. Unfortunately I don't have any friends with aquariums. I also only know of three local places. Petco, Petsmart and a little fish place that makes me even more concerned about their animals than the previous two. Sometimes it sucks living in such a disconnected town.