Setting up a Reef tank Pro's and cons of Undergravel etc...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CountZero

Aquarium Advice Activist
I recently purchased a used 120 gallon tank that was owned by a freshwater fish keeper and I wanted to use it to set up a reef tank. I will list what equipment I purchased and maybe some of you can lend me a hand in getting this set up for Marine by letting me know what other equipment and supplies I will be needing and some cleaning tips. I am a marine newbie (I just set up my first marine tank 2 months ago, 55Gal )allthough many years ago I did succesfully maintain a Fresh water aquarium.

Ok, on to the equipment:

120 gallon tank with 1/2 inch glass roughly 6' long 25" tall and about 18 width.

4 door wood cabinet stand

Black Oak cover

Glass top

2- 24" fluorescent lights

2 Fluval 403 canister filters

under gravel filter

2- 402 power heads

2- 802 power heads

3 air pumps

3- 4 gang valves

2- 300 wat titanium heaters

Misc nets, rocks plastic plants and cleaning sponges and 3 battery powered air pumps. (I got this for $250.00)

Everything just about is covered in a pretty thick layer of algae and crud I have removed and disposed of the 150#'s of rock it came with but thats it so far. Any recomendations on the best way to clean this tank and equipment would be most helpful. :lol:

I am trying to set this up as cheaply as possible but I do not want to go so cheap that I cause my self problems later. I am willing to spend the money now to prevent problems.

What would be the best Substrate to use?

Is it possible to put a base rock into the tank then add the live rock around it and have it spread to the base? And if so, what would be the best rock to use for this purpose?

Anybody have any recomendations on what type and brand of protein skimmer to install?