Sick fuzzy Betta, beginner mistakes.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PerryM

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello!
I am new to fishkeeping and apparently have made a bunch of mistakes but trusted the local fish store and maybe that was a bad idea. I bought a beautiful what was supposed to be precycled (was set up and running in store with the fish already in it) 12 gallon planted tank with a Betta fish and 10-12 tiny endlers (which I now know is probably overstocked). I bought everything as it was set up in the store- they even drained the water into a jug for me to take home and use. This was 72 hours ago. The endlers all look great but the betta hasn’t eaten really from the beginning. I assumed he was stressed from the move and he would settle. Well, I came home today and he has white fuzzy patches. I have been trying too feed him fluval bug bites for Betta and tropical pellets for the endlers. I can’t tell you what the filter size is and I stupidly didn’t ask and the store isn’t open tonight. I did a 20% water change and then went out and got an api fresh water test kit and a heater. When I did the water change I used fritzguard to condition the water. The ph is at 7.8, ammonia 0.5, nitrates 20, nitrites 2.0. The tank is now at 78 degrees but I just put it in today as the first store had told me I didn’t need one. It was in between 72-74 degrees for the first 48 hours I had it. The endlers look fine and healthy. Can anyone help me identify this fuzzy stuff and what I need to do or what I can change? I’m assuming I should go buy a small hospital tank for him tomorrow? I took him out of the tank and put him back in the transport cup with some preconditioned Betta water for the evening given the parameters. Gosh if feel terrible if I kill him after only 3 days. I was really looking forward to the hobby :(

Attachments