Sick Goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jarozi

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So the history of this goldfish can be read here.

Long story short, the fish hasn't eaten in 4 days and has a cloudy eye (the other is fine) and perhaps popeye?

I'm new at this so bear with me.

The water read like this last night (0.25 a, 0 na, 0 ni, 8.2ph)

Can anyone suggest something for the cloudy eye and / or confirm this fish has popeye?

Also trying to figure what to do to get our little fishy to eat. Guessing it's all related?

Thanks!

Attachments

• Goldfish Rina 006.jpg
    Goldfish Rina 006.jpg
    172.6 KB · Views: 127
Well, your tank doesn't seem to be cycled (nitrogen cycle). Do water changes every day, or every other day. The clean water will help with the pop-eye also (yes, it looks like he has it).
Since he has pop-eye AND a cloudy eye, I would think it's internal parasites, and I would ge some anti-parasitic food ASAP.
His tail fin also looks like it's been nipped or it's rotting off, and clean water should help that grow back also.

Since the tank is only 20 gallons, I wouldn't get any more fish. Comets can grow up to 12 inches if they are provided enough space. Not providing enough space causes the insides to keep growing, but not the outside body, so they have much shorter lifespans.

Also, I know you didn't mention it, but the box of filter media says to change it out every month or so, DON'T. Only change your filter media if it's falling apart, and if it gets gunky, rinse it in old tank water.

Unfortunately she's not eating so I can't medicate that way yet. I started a cycle of Tetracycline last night. I'll get the food in case she starts eating soon.

Poor fish!
I'd isolate him in a calm, very clean sick tank treated with Maracyn. Do you keep one around for these types of things? I think that should help with her a little bit.