Silver dollar not eating please help :-)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bashfoto

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everyone,
I'm new here plus new to the aquarium scene. i have been reading loads trying to catch up.

i have set-up the following:

Tank: 15Gallon (71L)
Filter:Wet/Dry i believe(recycles water above the tank while passing through a filter)
Tank run time: 14 days
Fish in tank: 2 small Silver Dollar
Water Change 2 days ago 40% i have been doing 30 - 50 % water changes every 4 days or so.
decor: 2 plastic plants and one real wood to hide around. medium size graval.
Type of food: Basic Flakes

The Silver Dollar were only put in about a week ago however one of the silver dollar is not eating and keeps hiding, over the week it has shrinked in size.
at the time being a newbie i was not aware of the cycle which i have read now, unfortuantly i can not get hold of any water testing kit where i am located no local fish store stocks them!! they dont even stock medicine i have tried 2 fish stores we have.

Silver%20Dolar-2500.jpg

Silver%20Dolar-2501.jpg

Silver%20Dolar-2502.jpg

i apologise in advance if i have missed something, i have attached some pictures that may help. 2 of the unhealthy fish and one healthy.

Thank you,
Marten

Hi there, welcome!

I'm unfortunately not seeing the pictures?

Do the fish perk up after a water change? Also what sort of water conditioner are you using to treat the tap water before adding to the tank?

It would be worth checking online for something like the API freshwater master test kit. I think eBay has them cheap and it covers ph, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate water tests. It's a liquid based test which is more reliable than cardboard strips.