Snail for my goldfish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cobaltskyy

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi there I was just thinking about putting a snail in with my goldfish. I have him in a 4 gallon bowl, 50% water changes at least once a week. Will this be ok? Can and will the snail get out of the bowl? I also have a betta in a 2.5 gal with a live plant same scenario as above.....any advice??

Yes...upgrade them both to proper tanks ASAP. First the goldfish. A bowl is not a suitable home for any pet. It would need way more water changes than that to keep the ammonia in the water down. Is it a fancy goldfish? If so it needs a minimum of 20 gal tank...maybe more I'm not a goldfish expert. It's just swimming around in it's own waste...that can never be OK. The betta needs a minimum of a 5 gal tank, heated to atleast 78F. Then they can both have a snail.

petco's having a sale on deluxe kits with the hood, filter, and heater.

I had a betta in a 10 gal hex and it died. I think it was too much current/depth for him so I thought the bowl would be better and with the live plant I figured this would help. Grrr I guess I will upgrade him to one of those little betta cubes or something. And my goldfish I have had for almost 2 years he's just a plain old goldfish and is very happy and healthy. He out grew the little bowl he was given to me in so I have the 4 gal bowl now. He will be getting the 10 gal upgrade as soon as $ allows.

It just cracks me up that these decorative fish have been kept in bowls for years and years and now all of the sudden they need filtration and heaters. Guess I'm old school.