Snails...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Goxgetxfat

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
EDIT: Ugh, I'm sorry. I misread this forum and thought it was "Freshwater". >.< Sorry. This is a Freshwater snail that I'm talking about. That was my mistake.

I did a horrible "first owner" thing the other day. I was in the pet store buying the grass for my aquarium (I'm pretty experienced with aquarium plants and a majority of fish), and I saw a snail. I don't know what impulsed me to adopt a snail that day, but I did.

After bringing the little guy home, I now realize that there's more to know than it's scientific nature (I studied marine snails briefly in a class). Lately he's been digging holes in the gravel, staying closed up in his shell for long periods of time, and only barely coming out of his shell. I don't know if this is normal behavior for a snail. This snail is a black snail, I believe it's the Mysterious Snail... but it was so impulsive, I don't even know what kind it is! I feel horrible, because it's really not like me.

Anyways, I'd really like a little bit of an update about snails if anyone knows of them. And my friend was talking about how some snails can reproduce asexually, claiming that she bought one snail one day, and a week later she had a surprising egg sack.

Also, he normally shuts his "door" shut, but right now it's sort of half way open, half way closed. I don't think he's dead, because he was literally happy as can be two minutes ago, and before it was shut completely tight. I don't know... I'm just so lost with this and I should have researched a bit before getting one. =/

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
And my snail shares a home with a Beta in a three gallon tank.

Welcome to AA! :)

Don't beat yourself up too bad for the impulse buy. Most of us have chosen worse at some point of our aquarium careers.