Some Help Please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Terry

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi everybody
I am in the process of setting up a 56 UK gal planted corner tank, I have a Dennerle co2 system to put on to it.
I am unsure of the amount of bubbles per minute etc. that is needed, any advice would be appreciated.

When it comes to planted tanks i'm a bit of a beginner.

Many thanks

Asking the bubbles per minute is like asking how far down you have to press the accelerator pedal on your car to get to 100 kph. All cars are different. Just like all tanks are different. What you want to do if you don't have a pH monitor and solenoid is start with a very low bubble rate, ~1 bps or so and after a half hour check the pH of the water. Wait!!!!! Backup!!!! First check the pH and kH of the water before you start. Are you familiar with the pH/kH/CO2 chart? If can be found here http://www.aquabotanic.com/charts.htm Once you know your kH and pH you will know your CO2 levels assuming that the only buffers in the water are carbonate based. No peat, no pH adjusting chemicals and things like that. Now, run the system at a low bubble rate, check the pH, look at the chart and find out your CO2 levels. Run the system at or around 15 ppm for a few days and then if you wish you can crank it up to around 25 ppm.

If you have the pH monitor and solenoid and have correctly connected everything then just set the monitor and forget about it.

Can you tell me more about the system you have? Does it have a reactor or a diffuser?

Thanks Rex for the reply,

This is all new to me, as you could probably tell by my first question. I will give you a rough run down of what i have done.