Some help with MTS please?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hulkamaniac

Aquarium Advice Freak
I won't tell my name on the Internet, but I am a victim of Multiple Tank Syndrome. :( Now, actually, that's not a big problem for me. I've been keeping fish for four years and I have tried keeping more difficult and sensitive fish (angels, cardinals, rams, otos) with mixed success(the angels and rams did great, the cardinals did so-so and the otos were dead within a week). I want to try to keep a discus fish in my 75 gallon, but I realize some of the fish in there will have to relocate elsewhere, but I'm not sure where. Currently I have:

5g - 1 betta
10g - 1 convict
20g - 4 swordtails
29g - 2 female guppies, approx half a dozen fry, unknown # of cherry shrimp
55g - 3 buenos aires tetras, upside down cat, Jack Dempsey
75g - 3 black skirts, 6 glo lites, 6 black neons, 6 von rio tetras, 6 cory cats, bn pleco 2 pygmy cories, 1 male dwarf gourami

Is there anyway possible to move some fish out of the 75 gallon to other places and possibly add a discus as the centerpiece fish in the 75? It's the first thing people see when they walk in my house and I want something for them to ooh and ahh about.

Discus are schooling fish, so a group of 4-6 is needed. They like warmer water than most tropicals, so tankmates are kind of limited. They need excellent water quality, so water changes every few days are needed.

You could move the glowlights, black neons, and cories to the 29g, move the pygmy cories and von rios to the 20g. Dwarf gourami could go to the 29g.

Discus are also slow moving fish, so I wouldn't keep them with anything active or nippy (that takes out the black skirts and von rios).

Good tankmates for them are cardinals and rummynose. Plant the tank, if it isn't already, as that helps keep the water very clean.