Something may be wrong with glofish....?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

S.rigney88

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 gallon tank with 6 glofish, a snail, and 3 albino catfish. I have only had the catfish for about a week. They were all fine until the last couple of days. The glofish seem to be staying at the very top of the tank and just huddling together there while the catfish thing they rule the tank. The catfish are also swimming very fast up and trying to get at the glofish almost. I am very worried becasue before we got the catfish the glofish used to swim all around the tank.... please help. I don't know what to do. This is my first try at having fish....

How long have you had the tank for? Is the tank cycled? I'm not sure if glofish are good tankmates for the catfish but you have too many fish for a ten gallon. It might be they don't have their own space and are fighting for it. The catfish can grow up to 3 inches and the glofish 2 inches. The bare min. rule is one inch of fish per gallon of water but its better if they have way more room than that.

Are these corydoras catfish or some other kind. That does not sound like typical corydoras behavior.

These is a normal albino corydoras:
albino_corydoras.jpg

This is another kind of "typical" catfish:
0059.jpg

Which type of fish does your catfish most resemble?

If they're cories, and you have adequate filtration, that's not over crowding. But I agree with mike on the behavior. I've NEVER seen or heard of an aggressive cory.

It is the corydoras... I don't know why they are acting like that.... but they seem to be getting kind of aggresive with my glofish... I am worried, what should i do?