Star polyps not opening

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CaledonFish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Last week my star polyps closed up on me after feeding them. This has been the norm every time I feed them but this time they have not opened back up. It has been 1 week to the day since closing. I have tested the water and everything is in check. I did a water change yesterday just to make sure and I have also moved them closer to the light ( a few days ago) and still nothing. Does anyone know how long star polyps can survive closed up and has anyone else had this happen to them?

Thanks in advance

I'm no coral pro as only got few freebie with rock I've bought but got a big rock with a lot of green star polyps onit and read up that don't need to feed them as get there energy from the light. Read that feeding some coral to much can stress them as they use a lot more energy digestion the food than they get from eating in first place so maybe that's what's going on.

Last week my star polyps closed up on me after feeding them. This has been the norm every time I feed them but this time they have not opened back up. It has been 1 week to the day since closing. I have tested the water and everything is in check. I did a water change yesterday just to make sure and I have also moved them closer to the light ( a few days ago) and still nothing. Does anyone know how long star polyps can survive closed up and has anyone else had this happen to them?

Thanks in advance

What did you feed them, star polyps really don't eat anything from my experience. Don't move them that stresses them out more. Just let them be they can stay closed for weeks and then pop back out. One of the hardiest corals in the hobby. What are your nitrates at? Star polyps can be a good indicator they are high. Also what type of lighting and flow do you have in the tank?