starting a saltwater reef tank for beginners

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jdavid71

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am converting to saltwater reef tank because we have kept freshwater fish for some time now. Can you guys help me by posting websites that are reliable, so I can fully understand on what I need to do. I am commited to it and my tank size is going to be a 20 gallon tank. Also, if you guys can leave any tips, also keep in mind that I am a complete beginner on saltwater.:thanks:

Have a look at some of the articles on here about setting up a salt water tank and ongoing maintenance. Plenty if good info to be found. When you are ready to start up you can ask loads of questions here!

The articles on fishless cycling on this site are great.

Also, if you want a good book (or two), I highly recommend the following:

Marine Aquarium Handbook: Beginner to Breeder by Martin A. Moe | 9780982026212 | Paperback | Barnes & Noble

The Nano-Reef Handbook: The Ultimate Guide to Reef Systems under 15 Gallons by Chris R. Brightwell | 9780793807178 | Paperback | Barnes & Noble

I have a 20 gallon and love it. More importantly, my wife and kids love it, as well (so much so that my wife wants a 120 now :) )

What lighting should I use and how many watts per gallon. What light will allow me to keep most corals

See the thread about lighting, best bang for your buck. TLDR version: Taotronics dimmable 120 watt.

See the thread about lighting, best bang for your buck. TLDR version: Taotronics dimmable 120 watt.

So 6 watts per gallon is good? Also, can you explain what actinic light is? What light can I use at night or do I not need one?

You don't need watts per gallon. PAR and PUR is what's important with corals. Those lights are dimmable, so they can be dialed down. The full 120 will most likely destroy corals in a 20 gallon tank.