Steps to turn around a 29 gal high planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ciph3ro

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

I have visited this forum many times over the years but just signed up for some help and advice.

I'm an engineer and have a busy work schedule but also love fishtanks, especially planted. I have always used the type of bulbs and filters that come with those kits at the pet stores and I want to go beyond that and get a great tank.

This is my 3rd tank, as I had to move away for my career far away and could not take my original 2 with me.

29gal high
Fluval C3 filter, 6500K tube (24W I think?)
lots of fish, maybe too many (list coming soon. right after I get home from work)
some big pieces of driftwood. they release tannins
Many-a-plants (some brought over from Ontario to Alberta)
have a backup in-the-box Aquaclear 50 just in case
2 heaters for less heat fluctuations when room gets cold in the winter.
timers with about 14 hours a day of light.
air pump set up but not used often.
plain black gravel

I attached a picture with more coming.

I'm basically looking for some advice on re-stocking (it is a community tank), lighting, maybe even CO2 (which I've never used) and other substrate (only ever used gravel)

I will post more info and better pictures today but please help :)

Well if you have big enough driftwood and don't like the yellow water I would get 1 or 2 pouches of Purigen.. I use 2 in my 55G and its driftwood is 3 feet long and nearly as tall as the tank.. So it releases a crazy amount of tannins... Those bags get brown in like 3 days.. And I noticed they really do keep the water clearer longer so I don't have to constantly do water changes... I might get 2 more though because mine cant keep up with the tannins. They are renewable using bleach so you don't have to buy new ones..