Stocking Query: 12-14 gallon tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dcj

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Howdy AquariumAdvice!

I've joined a couple of fish forums in anticipation of setting up a couple of tanks with some species that I haven't kept before; I've had some really great advice from people but thought I'd repost here too as I'm trying to get as much advice and anecdotal experience, etc as possible.

I've kept fishtanks before so I wouldn't say I'm a newbie, but I'm not quite intermediate yet either. I've kept harlequin rasboras, pitbull plecs, betta fish, cherry and amano shrimp, cories (which I wasn't intending to breed but they did anyway) as well as livebearers (platies, swordtails and mollies) who bred like rabbits. All the tanks are going to be planted with driftwood and whatnot for hidey holes and things and of course everything will be cycled and the stats stable before I put anything in there. My water is pretty hard, although I won't know the exact number until my testing kit comes through, but I have access to soft water if I need it.

The first tank I'd love some feedback on is a 12.1 US gallon (19.5" long, 13" wide, 11" tall) with a Superfish Aqua Flow 200 internal filter and a Aqua One Clearview 280 HOB Filter. It's got a black background which I'm planning on keeping and matching with black substrate, and I'm probably going to plant it up with Vallis, Anubias Nana, Crypts, maybe some Java Fern, I'm not sure yet.

I put my wishlist for this tank into the fabled AqAdvisor as follows:

5 x Cherry Barb
2 x Peacock Gudgeons
3 x Sparkling Gourami

This gave me:

Estimated stock level: 91%
Aquarium Filtration Capacity: 320%

I was a bit uncomfortable with that stocking level so I removed one Sparkling Gourami and the stats became:

Estimated stock level: 85%
Aquarium Filtration Capacity: 353%

My queries are: