Stressed Auloncara

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lilcris

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting and I'm a new cichlid owner. Last weekend we added a large Otopharyx "Spots" to the tank - he is by far the largest fish and although he's not aggressive, he is a bit of an oaf. The other fish tend to stay away from him, including the most aggressive in the tank. In fact, since his introduction our Sulfurhead Auloncara has found a sheltered spot and does not move much during the day. He will not eat and is far less active than he used to be. Perhaps it was a mistake to add a considerably larger fish to a tank full of mostly juveniles? Any suggestions on how to help the Aulonocara? Will he venture out over time or will he simply wither away?

A bit about my tank:
55 gallon Malawi
Temp: 78F
pH: 8.0
Ammonia: .05
Nitrate: 2.0
Nitrite: 0.0
Gh: 107.4
Kh: 214.8

Tank mates: I'll do my best to name them all
1 Auloncara stuartgrandotti (wild, same size as Sulphurhead, not aggressive)
2 Haplochromis Fire (I think 1 male, 1 female, both very timid, neither seem to be thriving)
1 Aulonocara Eureka (mildly aggressive)
1 Pleco
4 yellow labs
2 Melanochromus joanjohnsonae
2 Powder Blue (1 male, 1 female - demonstrating tons of spawning behavior, male was boss of tank and most aggressive)

There are others, but I can't identify them all. I think we have about 23-25 juveniles in the tank. Most are very peaceful.

Any suggestion are welcome. This is actually my husband's tank, but the Sulphurhead is my "baby" and I'd be pretty ticked if he died. :(

Shy behaviour is sometimes a sign of disease. Make sure you can get a good look at him and make sure he is eating.

It also might be just a change in the pecking order.