Substrate? Gravel?-- What?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishingforfish

Aquarium Advice Activist
Sorry if this sounds really stupid, I am quite new to this hobby and this forum.

I am a bit confused as what to use as a bottom layer when using live plants. Some say you need dirt substrate then sand/gravel on top for nutrients, and some say it'll do just fine with JUST sand/gravel. I went to petco today, and all they had was gravel, no dirt substrate or anything like that. However, I didn't buy anything until I was sure.

Question: Do you need a dirt substrate underneath sand/gravel if you use live plants? Suggestions would be appreciated, thanks!

For my first planted tank I used flora max substrate. Eco complete is also pretty much the same thing. They have nutrients for plants but are not messy like dirt can be.
But it all depends on what type of plants you plan on planting. Stem plants absorb their nutrients from the water so substrate wouldn't even matter, but if you want root feeders a good nutritious substrate would be important. I suggest researching the types of plants you want first.
If you want mostly stem plants and a few root feeders, I think you'd be fine with sand or gravel and just putting fertilizer root tabs by the root feeders.