Sudden pH drop with Fish in tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

minyip

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. I've recently started my first tank. I'm new to fishkeeping and mistakenly thought my tank was cycled when I got it because it was second-hand and had used filter media and substrate. That was my first mistake. I went out and bought some Rummy-nose tetras as the guy at the fish store told me they were good for beginners. Second mistake.
So I've been in the process of doing an emergency fish-in cycle. I've been using Prime and bacteria along with regular water changes and the ammonia levels were almost getting back to zero. I was hopeful thinking my fish had almost made it through unharmed.
Then yesterday I checked on my fish and they were all sitting at the bottom and one was dead. I did all the tests and ammonia, nitrite, nitrate all seemed normal, but the pH had dropped to 6 or below.
Normally the tank stays around 7.4. I've done some research and the only cause of pH drop that I can find that would relate to my tank is pH drop due to Nitrites. My reason for guessing this is that the tank is still cycling, but the nitrites still don't appear on my tests and I can see the presence of Nitrates.

I tested the tap water and it was reading at a normal pH so it couldn't have been from a water change.
Does anyone have any insight into this? What else could have caused this?
I added some sodium bicarbonate to boost the pH and the fish seemed to perk up a bit but another two passed away over night and the remaining fish don't look like they'll make it.

I should also note that my area has VERY soft water. I know that soft water can allow pH to change suddenly.