Tank for Betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Newfisher

Aquarium Advice Activist
For a baby Betta...do I need to cycle the 1 gallon tank? It has a filter and light. It is a Betta kit from Petco. It has Betta water, conditioner, and food. It does not have a heater but I have an extra 50 watt heater...should I use a heater in a Betta tank? I put gravel and tiny silk Betta plants and a tiny flower pot for her cave in the tank.what temp. Should the water be?

I have my adult Bettas in 1 gallons no filter or heater and I change water once a week the oldest is about 3 years old . My room temp is between 65 ish and 80 ish depending on time of year but I'm still learning about Betta they are tropical so would do better with 75-80 I think

Thank you for your response about the question of the heater/temperature. Should I cycle? Right now she is in a community tank but I want to move her. Some of her tank mates and her do not seem to like each other...lol. I am trying to cycle the little tank but cycling does take time and I am a bit concerned about her safety.

There are differing opinions on how to keep Bettas. Some think anything smaller than 2.5 gallons is just too small for the fish, and would prefer nothing under a 5G. Some think the bowls and other small containers are fine.

Don't want to get into that debate.. I kept mine in 2.5 G tanks, with small filters so I did not have to do as frequent water changes. No heater, they don't really need tropical temperatures and did fine, but this apartment is on the warm side much of the year, so I have fans running more often than not.

You would have to do a 50% water change every few days at the least, if you have no filter and use a container one gallon in size. Most tap water is ok with dechlorinator added first, you don't need special Betta water for them.