Tank hangs over edge of table

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

benda

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to the hobby and purchased this 29 gallon tank 5 days ago. As the picture below shows, the tank hangs over the edge of the table about 2-3 inches on each side.

Dsc02154.jpg

I found out today that this could lead to a crack in the tank, so at lunch I came home from work and emptied about 8 gallons of water (as much as I could and still permit the filter and heater to function).

How urgently do I need to buy a proper stand? Can I wait another 24-36 hours, or should I do something about it immediately?

Thanks in advance.

No telling just when something is likely to give out. But you did the smart thing in draining some of the water to relieve some pressure. Hopefully, this will work out for you.

That table will probably be fine as long as the only pressure is straight down towards gravity, but every time it gets bumped at all those legs will wobble and loosen the bite those relatively tiny screws have on the wood. It's just generally a much too weak looking structure to be putting 300 pounds on considering that you will get an occasional sideways or twisting force.

It's hard to say if it will last a day or two. Just make sure noone bumps into it and there isn't alot of traffic near it and you should be fine until you can get a stand int he next couple days.