Thinking on a new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smokefan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok big question is I am thinking on buying a 14 gal Biocube for a salt setup. I have never done a salt tank before. Should I or shouldn't I attempt this? I am NOT wanting a large tank so going larger is really not a option. Owner of LFS told me that a biocube is a good start and if I take my time I should be able to handle it with no major problems. So I would appreciate some + and - on it please.

Thanks

First of all Welcome to AA. Your tank is very doable but it will require some dilligence as smaller water volumes are less forgiving if you have problems. You said a bigger tank is not an option so do the smaller tank but go very slow and keep a good eye out for problems. Smoke fan stand for Tony Stewart?

Mike thank you and yes I am a Tony Stewart fan. LOL. I plan on taking my time and asking plenty of questions. My somewhat LFS is very helpful and have been very patient and have answered my questions.

yep. Sounds great. And make sure you research any livestock you plan on adding for once your cycle is over. Good luck! (y)

I just recently took the plunge and started out with a 29G Oceanic Biocube. I also didn't want to start too big. I did what you plan to do smokefan with the addition of bioactive sand. I was cautioned on using it because of the shelf life, but I found some that had a sell by date on it, and my tank cycled really FAST. I didn't wash the sand for fear of washing out the good bacteria (the bag of sand had saltwater in it) and it took a couple extra days of waiting for it to clear up before I could rearrange my rock (after i added the sand i couldn't see ANYTHING so I gently lowered the rocks randomly at first), but it was worth the wait. GOOD LUCK