Thoughts on Nitrate Sponges?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

senemedar

Aquarium Advice Freak
Anyone have any experience with them?
Are they doing anything really or it's just a waste of money?

I never bought this product, but it must be similar to Matrix or Pond Matrix. Just keeps lower nitrates in between water changes. It does not replace water changes and it doesn't get rid of other unmeasurable waste in the water.

I didn't look for it as a replacement for a water changes. I just looking for it as a help with keeping water clean and healthy. I'm doing the water changes every week and intent on doing so all the time :)

I have had no experience with that product but if you keep up with water changes and periodic testing of levels so you get a good feel how dirty your water gets in relation to time, you will have pristine water.

My nitrates are skyrocketing now for some reason I can't comprehend, so I ordered a sponge for my tank and will do a water change today and tomorrow. Got a brand new water test, so I'll keep posting about the results when I get my sponge :)

My nitrates are skyrocketing now for some reason I can't comprehend, so I ordered a sponge for my tank and will do a water change today and tomorrow. Got a brand new water test, so I'll keep posting about the results when I get my sponge :)

Nitrates is used to measure the total amount of pollution in your water. If you buy a product that mask your indicator, then you will never know how your water quality is doing.

If you're doing 50% weekly water changes and still get rising levels of nitrates, then your tank is overstocked or you are overfeeding.

Terrance said:
Nitrates is used to measure the total amount of pollution in your water. If you buy a product that mask your indicator, then you will never know how your water quality is doing.