Tommy's 1st attempt at a planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tommyk

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone,

I'm going to keep this thread as a journal of my first planted tank...

I had a spare 15 gallon tank lying around with an internal filter and heater just begging me to do something with it.

Today I got some miracle gro organic choice and took the plunge.

If anybody spots some terrible mistakes I'm making, or ways to improve my set up please let me know, as I'm new to this.

Fist of all here is a pic of the empty tank
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618258.213314.jpg

Next I added approx 1.5 inches of miracle grow
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618320.677257.jpg

And capped with about 1.5 inches of gravel, I don't like the gravel colours but it was all I had
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618419.416702.jpg

Fist of all here is a pic of the empty tank Next I added approx 1.5 inches of miracle grow And capped with about 1.5 inches of gravel, I don't like the gravel colours but it was all I had
I'd say if you don't like the gravel now change it! It's only going to be 10x harder when it's planted.. I'd personally pick out the red pebbles and call it done! You can always add a snail bag if black gravel over it later.. Also you want to consider planting before cap and flood..

I then added some driftwood and rocks to the tank, and a few tiny plant clippings from my other tank
Bear with me aquascaping does not come natural to me. I can't decide whether I like it or hate it.
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618624.975222.jpg

And then came the flood
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618724.669368.jpg
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395618767.651604.jpg
Then added a bit of pothos I had in an old set up, I put the filter running with just some filter floss to clear the water and turned on the heater