Total beginner please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Noura

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi all

i just purchased a 84L fishtank and want to start but dont know how and what with?
how many fish what types and plants?

is there any preconditioning necessarry?

thanks a lot for any practical advice.

newbie me:fish2:

I would first start off with reading both of these guides and choosing how to proceed.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling-148283.html

and

Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side - Aquarium Advice

Either one you pick you will absolutely need a http://www.amazon.com/API-Freshwater-Master-Test-Kit/dp/B000255NCI or something comparable. Forget about the strips.

I would also highly recommend seachem prime as a water conditioner.

Fishless cycling is the preferred way and tends to be a bit less work. Fish in cycling is a lot more work but you get instant fish. Either way it's up to you.

Once you decide on that, then you can start researching for fish. Generally I would suggest starting your search at:
Aquarium Fish: Tropical Freshwater Fish and Saltwater Fish for Home Aquariums
It has rough statistics and tank sizes for most common fish. Just be sure to check compatibility because some fish will be more aggressive than others.

This site will also help you figure out stocking:
AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor
Ignore the water change % and the filtration capacity as they are largely useless measurements.

I did a 'fish in' cycle, wasnt hard, 20% water change every 2nd day until cycled, had fish in my tank since day 2, so much better than staring at an empty tank.. .