Please Send Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

courts

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys,

I am a total fish newbie and in need of help!

I was gifted some fish due to a friend moving overseas, unfortunately the tank was emptied and the fish transported in only a small amount of the water in a bucket!

After doing a lot of research I am finding that cycling needs to happen but I am at a loss. Everything I read seems to contradict each other.

First thing I read was to change the water whenever the ammonia got to .50ppm and to try and keep it around .25ppm and that after a few weeks the ammonia wold start to reduce and the nitrate would rise. I was doing this and adding 'Pieces - Establish Startup Bacteria' daily wish no luck.

We then kept researching and found some articles about letting the ammonia spike to 2.0ppm before doing a water change.

We are on week 3 with no nitrate at all. What am I doing wrong!

PH is sitting around 7.6.

Thanks!
Court

You are doing what is called a fish in cycle, and your target to change water whenever the ammonia gets to 0.5ppm is a good one. You should be also be doing water changes whenever nitrite gets to a similar level.

There is also a process called a fishless cycle where you artificially dose ammonia and cycle the aquarium before you get fish. Because you dont have to worry about fishes health and wellbeing during a fishless cycle you can get the ammonia much higher and cycle the tank quicker and this is where the 2ppm for ammonia comes into play.

Expect your cycle to take 2 to 3 months to complete.