Totally disappointed with the Python

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twoodrough

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been doing fish tanks for over 3 years and finally got a python. I was so excited because of the way people raved about them, but using mine was a disaster!

It hooked up well enough, and siphoned water and debris out, although slower and not as strongly as I expected. Then it came to putting water back in. We followed the instructions and water sprayed everywhere from the pump hook up. It started spraying within 1-2 seconds of turning the water on. The hose could not handle the pressure. I had no chance to walk 10 feet to the tank to turn the water on and release the pressure. I had my husband helping me today and there is no way I could have done it by myself, which I need to able to do. The kitchen would be soaked by the time I walked back and forth.

I read many reviews (Amazon) and only saw one that had this same problem. Most of the bad reviews were from parts breaking, not from water spraying. Did I just get dud? Should I try another one? We did not see anything wrong with the hook ups and pump, and we could not tighten them anymore because they are plastic and could break. The amount of water spraying was totally unacceptable. Totally disappointed and wondering what to do.

I can't remember now. Which way is it supposed be?
I leave the valve at the siphon(tank end) open, the whole time. If you are trying to fill the tank with the valve closed(on the siphon end), this will put serious pressure on all the connections and water will spray everywhere. I NEVER close this valve for that reason. The only time I close it, is when I want to drain the water from the tube, after use and before putting it away. Is there any leaks when you are using it to drain the tank??