Trying to get a simple planted tank started. Help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RachelG

Aquarium Advice Activist
Plant noob here. Needing some advice, so I don't screw up...
I want to plant my ten-gallon tank with some easy plants like dwarf sag, crypt wendtii and dwarf hairgrass, (At least, from what I've read those sound easy and undemanding!) and have some anubias, java fern and java moss on driftwood. This ten-gallon is to house my growing cherry shrimp colony which have overpopulated their two-and-a-half-gallon tank on my desk. I bought a few adults four months ago, and now I have over twenty juvenile shrimp. :ermm: I want to do a planted tank bottom so I won't have to vacuum the substrate so often, because I worry about sucking up tiny baby shrimp.

I received this light today, and I'm not sure how this would work in the tank since I know nothing about LEDs: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/anyone-familiar-with-this-japanese-light-303016.html
Any info at all on that LED light would be appreciated.