Urgent 50% water change don...what now? Please help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Keke89

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all total newbie here.

Fish we're dying daily, last 2 days got test kit.
Ammonia - 10 ppm.Toxic
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

Did immediate 50% waterchnge? Through in prime seachem. 15g tank What to to next? When must I test again? Stressed a bit, an fish are swimming frantically after waterchange.
Are they freaked out?, dying? Or relieved??
My normal tap water has 0 ammonia.
What to do?

Awaiting on any advise, thank you all.

I am in South Africa and all our shops don't stock API products. So still opted for liquid test an got the sera test kit.ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390412894.041068.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390412964.922022.jpg

For tropical fish tanks.

Have you tested since the water change? Your goal is to get it down to at least .25 if not 0. The fish will be stressed, it will happen. if you're refilling using a python type water changing system, make sure you use enough to treat a 15g tank, not just replace what you took out.

No python type water changing system here. I used the gravel vacuum hose and use a bucket to replace water...., slowly, I try to match temp as well.

If I test again and level still not right, shouldn't do wc again? How long after that should I test again?

With ammonia at 10 ppm, I would be doing 50% every hour until I got it down to 0.

What type of fish do you have in your tank? Some can handle large water changes better than others. If there is any reason your tap PH is different to your tank (driftwood, crushed coral ect) be more wary of doing large water changes. If you know there is no issue with differing PH, I would be doing several large water changes an hour apart to get the ammonia right down.