urgent please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

charlieweaver21

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok im still new to this am i doing something wrong. Or did i just get bad fish. So i have tank testing seems pretty good. 0 ammonia. 1ppm nitrite and 20ppm nitrate. 7ph. So yesterday i added 4 fish. 3molly 1male 2 female and 1 angelfish. So when i got home i hung the bags in the water to get the temp the same. 10min later one of the mollys had died in the bag. So i was well guess to much stress she was never in my water so couldnt be my tank. So last night 8 hours later the other female molly died. No im worried but again i just blamed it on the store. And well woke up this morning another 8 hours later and well the angel fish died overnight. So now im really scared what happend must be messing up somewhere? But all my other fish have lived just fine. Including the 3 mollys i started the tanks with. They were troopers. Any one got suggestions what should i do.

How long has your tank been running? What are you using to test with, strips or liquid? What is your water change schedule? You're tank does not appeared cycled, your water parameters should be ammonia & nitrItes 0, nitrAtes <40. I would do at least a 50% water change to get the nitrItes down, I would retest about an hour later & if the nitrItes are still above .25 do another water change. NitrItes are dangerous to the fish.