water changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I need to get my nitrate levels in check. I guess I should explain. My husband has always done the water tests and changes on our tanks but he's working alot and now that chore has been shifted to me. While testing I realized we didn't have a nitrate test kit so I picked one up last night. Lets just say, I was shocked at the results and figure I need to do some big water changes to get them back down.

I'm no expert, but I'd say it's a math problem...

If you do 50% water changes, the first change would cut the nitrates in half, the second would cut it to 25% the third would bring it down to 12% etc...

But if your levels are rediculously high, maybe there's a root cause? You didn't mention if you were acting to correct that. I'm lucky to have a small tank so I can easly change 50% of the water once a week.

As far has fixing the root problem you'll need to ask these other guys, I'm still a noob when it comes to that stuff.

I had a problem with nitrates and switched test kits. Was using the quick test strips that you dip in the water. Nitrates were always high. Spent a little more on a test kit that took a little more time and Nitrates were actually almost zero.

I've learned to feed less. My fish look pathetic coming to the tank all the time, but there is less waste, even if it looks like they get it all.

I had a problem with nitrates when I would get ocean saltwater and didn't use it right away. There would be some die off and I wasn't able to get my nitrates down. Now I'm going with strict RO/DO saltwater. I'm considering mixing my own, but I'm not that brave yet.

Oh, one more thing. I would suggest a cleaner or fire shrimp. They do a good job of taking care of little particles. They'll help. Snails are good, too. 1 or 2 per 5 gallons is a good rule of thumb.