water test

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lkenn80

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok so following the advice of everyone here I got a master test kit. This weeks results were,

Ammonia- .25ppm
Nitrite- 0ppm
Nitrate- between 40 to 80 ppm. Color looked very similar to both.

I'm new to this so wondering if theres anything I need to be concerned with.

I did do a pwc today, the test was done before the water change.

your tank looks to be cycled. How long has it been running?

My only concern is the 0.25 ammonia and relatively high nitrates.
What size is your tank?
How many and what fish are in the tank?

Its been running for over about 2 months now. I have some neon tetras, black skirt tetras, Rosie tetras, dalmation mollies, and a pelco. Total fish= 17 and the tank is 90 gal. And I have been doing weekly water changes.

Most people recommend water changes whenever ammonia/nitrite are over .25 and whenever nitrate is over 20.

Ok, I will do some more frequent water changes. I know ammonia and nitrite should both be at 0. Whats the ideal nitrate I should be targeting?

Your tank looks understocked! which is a good thing.

I'm just interested on why you are getting high nitrates and an ammonia reading.
What filter(s) do you have running on your tank? It's possible that there is not enough filtration or turn over for your size tank.

Just under 20? Or is there a specific range?
For nitrates, Ideally less than 20.
But under 40 is acceptable.

When is the last time you cleaned and serviced your filter?
Also, do you vacuum your gravel when you do a water change?

There may have been a build up of waste (that your biological filter cannot support) in your gravel bed, or filter sponges, which needs to be removed.