well, i have had 3 LFS tell me to switch dechlorinators

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

all suggested either aqua safe or start right for our water supply. anyone know why they would tell me to switch?

Prime is as good as any .... but since it is so concentrated, a bottle will last you 10x longer than the others so the lfs makes less profits.

No reason to change your dechlorinator. Prime is the best IMO. And I completly agree. The more dechlor that you use the more money that the lfs gets out of it. It's kind of like them telling you to change your cartridges every 4 weeks.

I would stay with Prime IMO. Its always done its job for me and never let me down. And as before, if you get a big bottle of the stuff it does last quite a long time.

I've been using Prime for about 3 years and I've had no problems at all. I've used other brands too, but none of them are as concentrated as Prime, so I agree that other brands are more expensive in the long run.

FishyPeanut - most people are not going to remember that you're battling tap water with high ammonia. You might want to do a google search on the other products and see if they REMOVE ammonia or just render it non-toxic like Prime does. If it removes it then you risk starving your biofilter unless you dose exactly for the amt of ammonia you're adding with water changes. If they just render it non-toxic then they are the same as Prime.