well its a start

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Try 10 hours per day to start, you will stave off algae a bit, and the plants should do fine. The picture makes it look as if you have plenty of light. Very nice piece of wood.

The faux "bamboo" is of course a marginal plant, it will not be truly happy until it is grown above the surface.

Are you just getting into planted tanks? If so, I highly recomend reading the stickies at the top of this forum. There is some solid info there.

do these bamboos use up nitrates like other plants? do we need to dose?
my water is

KH 8
GH 19
PH 7.4
CO2 3
FE 0.1

BOGGERSCOTT YOU SHOULD POST THIS INFO TOO!

I don't want to be the aquarium police, but I'm not sure all your plants are aquatic as mentioned my Zezmo. I think there are some others in there that are bad. I'm not an expert and its kind of hard to tell from the lighting in the photo.

Zezmo said:
The faux "bamboo" is of course a marginal plant, it will not be truly happy until it is grown above the surface.

Next how much light is determined by the type of plant you have and what kind of lights you are using. What are you using for tank lighting? Type of bulb and how many watts?

My first planted tank looked just like these. I was doing so much stuff wrong. Two years later I can see that now. Do lots of research and lots of reading. You guys need more plants, not lots more, just a bit more.

well yes this is my first tank with plants i just got these yesterday. ok so bamboo dont belong. what else? my lighting is 2- 40 watt floresent plant and aquaruim grow bulbs. ill start running them 8-10 hrs then. just give me a little time and ill have more im ordering some that you all recommended in my other post. should be in by wed.