What are fish??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irish.OG87

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just set up my 36g planted aquarium with eco complete and wanted to add fish, preferably a community tank. I want to get a pair of cichlid and a school of some other fish, but im a newb and need help. Please help me decide what i shud get, thanks.

A pair of rams and a school of neons or cardinals, along with some cories would be my choice... but what I like isn't always what others like.

thx for your feedback, if i got a school of neons and a school of cories along with the pair of rams wud that be too much ya think?? and btw whats considered a school 5-6?

Pigeonfood said:
thx for your feedback, if i got a school of neons and a school of cories along with the pair of rams wud that be too much ya think?? and btw whats considered a school 5-6?

My understanding is that most schooling fish require a minimum of 5 members. I have 9 neons, 7 red eye tetras and 8 Glofish/leopard danios. They all stick together and are fun to watch. Mfdrookie has a great idea adding the cories and a ram. That way all levels of the tank have activity, and a ram or dwarf gourami can serve as your centerpiece fish.

so for a 36g tank....6 cories 5 neons 2 rams and a dwarf gourami, wud that be too crowded you think??

There's a site called aqadvisor. Type in your tank size, type of filter and the fish you intend on having. It tells you your filtration capacity and stocking percentage. This site is in no way totally accurate, but can give you a good idea on where your stocking level is. What I like is it shows the correct pH, temperature and hardness range to make sure your fish are compatible. Again, don't consider that site as accurate...but if it says your way below capacity, you should be good to go.

eco23 said: