What fish/corals to put??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ameyaraje99

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all. Im a newbie into this hobby. I have a 29 gallon saltwater tank with around 30lbs of live rock , a canister filter, a rio nano skimmer and a CPR aquafuge hob refugium. My tank crashed about 4 weeks ago .I had a yellow tang(I know ..a rookie mistake), 2 clowns, a cleaner shrimp and a hermit crab. I was wondering if any of you could recommend what fish/corals to put in there.right now I have a small damsel and 2 small hermit crabs in there. Thanks for the help

Welcome to AA!

If you do consider getting corals, you are either going to have to get rid of the canister or do weekly cleanings on the media (by swishing it in old tank water). The canister will act as a nitrate factory producing more nitrates (which reef tanks need nitrates to be at 0).

What kind of lighting do you have? How many watts?

I would recommend getting rid of the damsel and replacing it with something else. Most damsels can and will be aggressive to other tanks-mates by either chasing them away from their territory or fighting.

As far as the rest of the 'fish' stock, Im not sure. You could get some more hermits, snails, etc to make a nice Clean up Crew.

The tank is about 3 months old. i had to recycle the tank. After the crash, i recycled it for about 3 more weeks. I've heard bad things about the canister which is why i got the refugium. The refugium currently has live rock and cheateau algae(not sure if i spelled it right). I'm considering putting some live rock rubble in one of the compartments of the canister. Would you recommend me getting rid of it?? if yes, then what filter should i go for.
As far as lighting is concerned, i have 2 lights one actinic and one regular. they are 24 inches long. i'll have to check the wattage but they are both t5's