What is this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shovelheadkevin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi folks.
I'm Kevin........a :n00b: and proud Albino ACF {Ms. Zippy}owner.
I'm relatively new to aquarium life but have already found that aquariums are addicting and --like Lays chips-- "Bet ya can't have just one...";)
I am planning on developing a 50-65G FW tank in the not so distant future, but I come to you today with a question about my 20G.
What is this white fuzz that's developed in Zippy's tank? It forms/settles primarily on ornaments and plants {wisteria}.
I don't have a test kit yet {on list of "to buy" for this week} so I can't provide any readings, but I'm posting pics.
Thanks ahead of time for any & all input. After surfing the forums here I know I've joined the right place.
There are no apparent ill effects on Zippy nor the couple of ghost shrimp that she hasn't found...........yet. lol
I'm inclined to think that it's algae from uneaten food. BTW....I'm not scheduled to vacuum gravel til mid week and want to keep that schedule.

Attachments

• 100_2544.jpg
    100_2544.jpg
    205.6 KB · Views: 123
  • 100_2539.jpg
    100_2539.jpg
    199.3 KB · Views: 108
  • 100_2537.jpg
    100_2537.jpg
    197.6 KB · Views: 104
  • 100_2534.jpg
    100_2534.jpg
    205.5 KB · Views: 114
It could be:
Dirty Algae, dirty fungus, uneaten food build up that's become fungused, just plain dirt or something else dirty... lol

That's why I posted the pics.
I'm smart enough to know that it could be any of several things.......but ignorant enough to not know what.

Well the thing is they all look about the same lol. Just brush it off with your hand. out of sight out of mind.

Well the thing is they all look about the same lol. Just brush it off with your hand. out of sight out of mind.

.......and 2-3 weeks later Zippy's maybe dead?
No thanks.