What kind of beginner centerpiece plant should I do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sublimer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
20 gallon long, freshwater, PFS substrate

I have no experience with aquatic plants other than a bit of java moss because it's relatively easy to grow. But I'd like to install one that will fan out enough to take up a good chunk of space on one side of my tank. I've looked at java ferns but they're a bit thin and I've heard amazon swords will outgrow my tank. Are there any other easy plants out there that I can try that fit this criteria?

Good Beginner Plant

20 gallon long, freshwater, PFS substrate

I have no experience with aquatic plants other than a bit of java moss because it's relatively easy to grow. But I'd like to install one that will fan out enough to take up a good chunk of space on one side of my tank. I've looked at java ferns but they're a bit thin and I've heard amazon swords will outgrow my tank. Are there any other easy plants out there that I can try that fit this criteria?

Hello Sub...

The best beginner plant that will get a bit on the tall side is Anubias nangi. The leaves are nice and large and the plant will grow in lighting from subdued to strong. I keep it in some of my larger tanks and float Brazilian Water weed over it and it grows even in shade. Attached is a pic. This plant is in a 45 G tall tank and is about 8 inches tall.

B

Attachments

• WP_20130405_001.jpg
    WP_20130405_001.jpg
    182.1 KB · Views: 143