What's Next?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishEggs

Aquarium Advice Addict
I now have a 10g tank with a few pieces of live rock (about fist size. well my fist anyways) aragonite sub, hob filter, protein skimmer, and ph. the LR is mostly covered with green hair algae and the only thing in the tank is a fighting conch (my wife named him snuffaluppagus) i wanted to add more inverts snails and shrimp and some more LR. maybe some day a fish or 2 if there are some that would be comfortable in a 10g. the tank has been running for 5 years before it was moved to my place and there is some purple coraline algae on the LR.

by the way i'm totally new to the SW side of the glass so here are my questions.

what is the process for adding new LR? do i just put it in or do i have to rinse it? i should already be cured if itr's LR right?

what other inverts would be good for keeping in a 10g? and how many?

i plan on putting LR rubble in the hob filter but wanted things to stabalize after the move.

anything else i should do?

thanks

LR can have die off on it even if it looks good. If you got it from LFS or established tank and took it straight home probably not.

Just get the live rock from your lfs as the rock they have is usually fully cured. Get about 10-15lbs. more and just stick it in there. As for fish maybe a clownfish or a clown goby, your options are limited since the tank is small. As for inverts, Do you want coral? Try some nasarius for the sand and a few astrea to keep the rock clean. You could also get a few shrimp, like sexy shrimp or peppermint shrimp. Hope this helps.

Sexy shrimp, you can probably get about 4-5 in there and the wife will love them! Go for a few nassarius snails (they stay small), ceriths, maybe even a fire shrimp (if you go this route, try maybe 2-3 sexy shrimp).